A week of firsts

17 02 2009

I believe I am a creature of habit, however this week I branched out & did a few new things, while none being extraordinary or “extreme,” they did have to be extremely different.

My events of difference began on Thursday night at the Versace show that was hosted at the Mason Murer gallery.  The people from New York hosting the event were slightly different than I am used to dealing with for events, but that should have been expected.  The social graces of the Souh eluded them. Though, through brief conversation I learned however that they felt acclimated because they had participated in the ingestion of Gritz.   Seriously this was how it was stated to me.  Among the preparation for the show there was a lot of shouting, no malice with it though, I just believe that is how many people in this world communicate.  My favorite quote of the evening was from a woman who worked in the gallery, when I made a commnet about the differences,reminded, me “we are dealing with another region.”  Well said.  I have never been one to claim that I was proud of my Southern heritage because of the negative connotation,but I beleive those days are over.

The show allowed me to ponder a few things, not on an existential level, but a few notches below.  I was looking at the difference between myself and all the others in attendance and was noticing some major differences.  However after making a conscious effort at the beginning of the year to find similarities I have with people rather than differences  I made an attempt at switching gears.  What I did discover was passion;  there is no doubt everyone in the room had a passion and a true sense of excitement about fashion & pop culture in general.  These people care just as much( if not more) about clothes, shoes and handbags as I do about trail running and being outside in the woods.    Once I had this revelation and accepted it the night became much more interesting for me.  I feel like I may have grown a little… just a little.

My next first, was on Saturday, and I shifted gears entirely from a Versace to a couples yoga class in Bryson City led by an old room mate and good friend, Melanie Leithauser.  I do not think under any other circumstances I would have attended a yoga class, but it being Valentine’s day I figured now was the time.  I am glad I did it,  I have a whole new respect for Yoga. I do not like to admit, but I think I am sore from exalting the sun and lifting Baddha Konasana… WTF?  Not the WTF for being sore, but who came up with these names?  The whole thing might be easier to digest and if I did not feel like I shoud have attened a drum circle at some point.  By the way pass me the bong, not in a Snoop Dog  or Michael Phelps way, but in I follow Panic & know all their set lists kind of way.  Twirl Hippie twirl.

In all fairness I truly enjoyed the class and it was really fun to be able participate with Rinne.

For dinner we were invited to join Chris & Anne at their house on top of the mountain. I wish I could convey properly in words what it was like to be there amongst freinds.  It was if several years had not passed and was liking walking into Cheers.  I knew everyone in the room and most of their dogs, very unlike any dinner parties in  the ATL, well at least ones that are not at our house.

My next first, was learning to play Texas Hold em and Bob Hatcock held my hand through most  of it.  Not in a gay way, but rather in an a wiser teacher learning a young student type of… wait this is starting to sound kind of Greek isnt’ it.  No matter, I was taught some of the finer points of the game, and they started to take my money.  However this being Greek & all fate stepped in and saved my ass, ( and for those keeping with the greek theme, not literally you sickos).  Apparently I should have played the lotto on Saturday night, because my luck was in overdrive…

Actions

Information

One response

10 04 2009
Andrew Saar

No need to say “not in a gay way”, I mean it’s obvious you kept distance between your balls from the description.

Though I have to say, in a post that mostly describes a Versace show, bending in unusual ways, your ass and Greek, one has to wonder if my earlier statement is assuming too much.

Leave a Reply

