Cross my heart and hope to die, stick a needle in my eye

23 06 2008

Vitrectomy Surgery-

Do not, I repeat, do not make this promise unless you really, really, really, really mean it. I think the particular promise I broke was to Chris Michaels regarding a wooden block or something in kindergarten.

So, Chris I would like to apologize… and for the record it was not worth it. Crime does not pay.

Surgery went well, I am cyclops. Will report more later when the drugs where off.One eye reeve

Drugs are not so bad, at least not yesterday. I was grateful to have whatever they gave me at the hospital. My father and his girlfriend, Cindy came into town for the surgery and took Rinne and I out to eat the night before, at Aspen’s (very good food I might add, but they do not stock lemonade there). We came up and everyone went to bed except me, as I was feeling a little nervous, and also wanted to write a little about my solstice run. I finally got to sleep around 2:30 or so and woke up around 7, took the dogs on a walk in the backyard trails.

I could not remember if they said not to drink water or not, so I took a few sips of water before leaving the house to head to Emory. We checked in, were given the buzzer to let us know when it was time for me to go back to get prepped. I got called back after a relatively short period of time, but not before finding a book in the waiting room The Loneliness of the Long Distance runner. WOW, something is going on here, I suppose I am in the right place.

After I was called back and asked the same question several different times, “which eye, have you had anything to eat or drink, is someone with you, etc.” They were not happy with my answer of “yes” to the water question, but prepping to pay the penance for earlier transgressions, I decided to be honest and tell them, “well yeah, I drank some water.” I was dehydrated…

The nurse trying to give me my IV, missed the first time, or as she said, “the vessel keeps blowing up.” I count it as a swing and a miss. She said she would wait a little while before she tried again and put a few more drops of something in my eye, and then gave me a temporary tatoo of the word “yes” over my left eye.

She got the IV in me the second time and I “drank” 1 bag fairly quickly. They asked if I needed to use the restroom, which of course at the time I did not. Not sure if I was so nervous that I did not need it or if I was too dehydrated. Her medical opinion was that I was severely dehydrated from Saturday’s activity. I.V. ‘s are good for rehydration, I think I might try and get one for the home.

Surgery was scheduled for 11:30, but we did not get started until 12:30. They took me back to the operating room and past that I do not remember a damn thing. At some point during me being in altered state of consciousness, they did this. and this

and cleared out a plethora of scar tissue, removed the vitreous gel, and mind you, they used freakin’ lasers. That’s how tough I am!

Came back to consciousness and was greeted by my beautiful wife, and one question came to mind “how did I get here?”

“Letting the days go by/let the water hold me down
Letting the days go by/water flowing underground
Into the blue again/after the money’s gone
Once in a lifetime/water flowing underground.”

I have not been in altered state of consciousness in quite some time (other than running), and have discovered I am not very good at it. So with a little help from Corinne I found my way to my bed and put myself down for several hours. Good riddance.

Had a check up this morning and the surgery went as good as it could. Will not know about how my vision is for a few weeks. I will have an air bubble in my eye for the next several days, and currently everything is blurry. Perhaps the only people who ever see bigfoot happen to have the same eye challenges that I do.

Sporting a patch today and have to have something over my eye for the next week, to keep it protected, so I will look like a pirate for next week or so…

not that kind of pirate you sickos!

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 06 2008
David Ray

Dude, that first pic looks like some wacky, bug-eyed superhero. Argh.

26 06 2008
rob

hellboy sidekick……. nuns always get you in the end

Leave a Reply

